Substitute Teacher Application Form
Substitute Acknowledgement Form
PROCEDURES TO APPLY FOR SUBSTITUTE CERTIFICATE IN WINSTON COUNTY SCHOOL SYSTEM
According to Board Policy, you must be at least 21 years of age or have
completed 2 years of college to apply for a Substitute Teaching Certificate. A
substitute teacher license is not required for substituting in support positions
1. Complete Application for a Substitute Teacher’s License (above).
2. Background clearance based on a fingerprint review. Instructions regarding
the fingerprinting process through Cogent Systems may be obtained at
https://www.cogentid.com/al/index_adeNew.htm or by calling (866)989-9316.
Applicants may verify whether their ABI and FBI criminal history background
check has been completed and whether they are suitable and fit to teach under
state law at www.alsde.edu/EdCert .
3. Applicants must bring the following to the Winston County Board of Education
a. Application printed and signed
b. Acknowledgement form signed and dated
c. $30.00 non-refundable fee paid by cashier’s check or money order payable to
the Alabama Department of Education or you may pay online with a major credit
card at www.alabamainteractive.org/education (a $4.00 transaction fee will be
d. TB Test – Results of a previous test that are less than 1 year old will be
e. Driver’s License or Photo ID
f. Social Security Card
g. High School Diploma/GED and/or College Credits equal to 2 years or more
Substitutes are added to the substitute list once approved by the Alabama
Department of Education.